All forums > On Writing > Club Agatha for mystery writers
page 1 of 115

Club Agatha for mystery writers

Greenleaf

first registered 04.01.12

last online 65 days ago

We're starting a new group for mystery writers on Authonomy.

Here is a list of our members who have books in Round One of our Chapter One Competition:

The Color of Red http://www.authonomy.com/books/39171/the-color-of-red-1-/
Provenance http://www.authonomy.com/books/44736/provenance/
Torque http://www.authonomy.com/books/43858/torque/
Slow Poison http://www.authonomy.com/books/42586/slow-poison/
Nothings Set in Stone http://www.authonomy.com/books/43539/nothing-s-set-in-stone/
Sir Laurence Dies http://authonomy.com/books/44804/sir-laurence-dies
Rebel Vengeance http://www.authonomy.com/books/43042/rebel-vengeance/
Stargazing http://www.authonomy.com/books/42209/stargazing/
Horse Sense http://www.authonomy.com/books/31545/horse-sense/
Five and a Half Tons http://www.authonomy.com/books/37461/five-and-a-half-tons/
Milk and More http://www.authonomy.com/books/45299/milk-and-more/
Who Killed the President http://www.authonomy.com/books/38214/who-killed-the-president-/
The Outcast's Sight http://www.authonomy.com/books/45155/the-outcast-s-sight/
The Made-Up Man http://www.authonomy.com/books/41698/the-made-up-man/
Silent Night, Violent Night http://www.authonomy.com/books/45570/silent-night-violent-night/
Virus http://www.authonomy.com/books/45539/virus/
The Licenser http://www.authonomy.com/books/42104/the-licenser/
Paddy Nemesis http://www.authonomy.com/books/34656/paddy-nemesis/
Judicial Indiscretion http://www.authonomy.com/books/42048/judicial-indiscretion/
Hadrian and the Sleeping Dragon http://www.authonomy.com/books/45014/hadrian-and-the-sleeping-dragon-/
Where She Lies http://www.authonomy.com/books/33045/where-she-lies/
Missing the Body of Evidence http://www.authonomy.com/books/39686/missing-the-body-of-evidence/
Lurking in the Shadows http://www.authonomy.com/books/634/lurking-in-the-shadows-/
Upside-Down http://www.authonomy.com/books/38975/upside-down/
Redemption http://www.authonomy.com/books/37250/redemption/
Murders in Beer http://www.authonomy.com/books/25691/murders-in-beer/
Chasing Shadows-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/45911/chasing-shadows


Here are our members with books that will be added along with the books listed above to the Round Two (Chapter Two Competition):

Hidden-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/44047/hidden/
Dropouts-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/46110/dropouts/
A Fine Pickle-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/25059/a-fine-pickle/
The Journey-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/43164/the-journey/
The Thorn in My Flesh-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/41675/the-thorn-in-my-flesh/
Don't Look Back-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/41835/don-t-look-back/
Missing-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/35662/missing/
Chameleon: Someone is Watching-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/40687/chameleon-someone-is-watching/
Following the Scent-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/43947/following-the-scent/
CondoMAXimum-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/4945/condomaximum/
The Second Coming of Walter Clements-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/4160/the-second-coming-of-walter-clements/

BOOKS NOT GOING ON TO ROUND TWO:

Stargazing http://www.authonomy.com/books/42209/stargazing/
Judicial Indiscretion http://www.authonomy.com/books/42048/judicial-indiscretion/
The Licenser http://www.authonomy.com/books/42104/the-licenser/
(Katemb is removing her book from Authonomy)



Here is a list of our members who are NOT participating in the Chapter One Competition of Club Agatha:

DaisyFitz (DF)-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/32878/distraction/
Antonia Marlowe (AM)- http://www.authonomy.com/books/41398/strange-bodies/
snw.mn-- http://www.authonomy.com/books/44900/snowman/
Pimpernel--


We welcome other mystery writers and crime writers.

UPDATE: We're starting a chapter one competition on Monday, the 9th of July. We don't have a deadline for completion yet. The books that are entered in the competition are listed on page 13. If your book isn't listed, and you want it to be, let me know either by message or forum post.

Instructions for Club Agatha Round One Competition:

The books are again posted on page 13 of the forum thread, and repeated many times throughout the thread. The plan is that everyone in the competition will read the first chapter of each of the books. We don't have a deadline set. You can start reading the first chapters as soon as you want, but it officially starts on Monday. You can read the books in any order. We don't want everyone reading them in the same order, so pick and choose as you want.

You should post your comment on the book's page but start it with the note: Club Agatha Critique. Then come to this thread and let us know which book's first chapter you read. You can give your thoughts about the book here, too, if you want. It's up to you.

I'll keep a listing of the books and who has read them (I'll post the list on the thread and update it often). Then, when everyone has read the first chapter of each book in the competition, we can vote on them and declare a winner for the First Round.

A REMINDER: Check the list of books participating in the competition before you do a Club Agatha critique. The complete list is at the beginning of this thread, and again on page 13, and is repeated on several more pages.

Of course you can critique any book you want, but it will only count in the tally here if it's a book that's part of the competition.


Posted: 03/07/2012 15:12:32
Last Edit: 31/07/2012 03:57:28 by Greenleaf

report abuse

Nick Goulding

first registered 31.03.11

last online 12 hours ago

I've often thought Authonomy could benefit from a 'mystery' genre group and so I'm pleased to see this group developing. Mystery and crime do not always overlap.
My offering, 'Where She Lies' has a mystery theme entwined within a literary fiction work.

http://www.authonomy.com/books/33045/where-she-lies/


Posted: 03/07/2012 15:21:02
Last Edit: 03/07/2012 15:32:09 by Nick Goulding

report abuse

Greenleaf

first registered 04.01.12

last online 65 days ago

Glad to have you in the group, Nick.

Posted: 03/07/2012 15:25:44

report abuse

Greenleaf

first registered 04.01.12

last online 65 days ago

My mystery novel is Provenance:

http://www.authonomy.com/books/44736/provenance/


Posted: 03/07/2012 15:26:12

report abuse

DaisyFitz

first registered 14.02.11

last online 2 days ago

Can Distraction join in? http://www.authonomy.com/books/32878/distraction/

Posted: 03/07/2012 15:29:58

report abuse

Declan Conner

first registered 11.04.10

last online 11 hours ago

I'm in with Missing: The Body of Evidence. Not sure if my 2nd book, The Journey, could be classed as a mystery? Now ain't that a mystery?

Anyway, for now here's my contribution.

http://www.authonomy.com/books/39686/missing-the-body-of-evidence/

Note: I'm adding a chapter per day and have around 5 more chapters and an epilogue to go for me to have the full book uploaded.

I won't have time to edit until finished, so for now I am only interested in story/ character progression in reviews. (unless you insist in pointing out errors.)




Posted: 03/07/2012 15:32:15
Last Edit: 03/07/2012 15:40:56 by Declan Conner

report abuse

Greenleaf

first registered 04.01.12

last online 65 days ago

Can Distraction join in? http://www.authonomy.com/books/32878/distraction/ <nolink>close quotes</nolink>

Sure. Welcome to the club.

Posted: 03/07/2012 15:33:03

report abuse

Greenleaf

first registered 04.01.12

last online 65 days ago

I'm in with Missing: The Body of Evidence. Not sure if my 2nd book, The Journey, could be classed as a mystery? Now ain't that a mystery?

Anyway, for now here's my contribution.

http://www.authonomy.com/books/39686/missing-the-body-of-evidence/


<nolink>close quotes</nolink>

Glad you're in. Welcome.

Posted: 03/07/2012 15:34:03

report abuse

Dantes

retired user

Glenn Muller

first registered 01.05.12

last online 26 days ago

I'm in - it was always a mystery as to when I would finish TORQUE Open-mouthed

http://www.authonomy.com/books/43858/torque/


Posted: 03/07/2012 16:05:19

report abuse

To leave comments on this message board please Register or Login

page 1 of 115